Polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday for election

Polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday for a general election that features candidates for many local positions.Polling takes place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday. All registered voters are eligible to vote.There are 25,347 registered voters in McKean County. According to the state Bureau of Elections, this total includes 2,089 in Kane, 1,176 in Wetmore Township, 574 in Mt. Jewett, 482 in Hamlin Township and 373 in Hamilton Township.Three local races will be drawing attention Tuesday and all three involve write-in candidates.These races include:*Kane District Court judge—Dave Engman of Kane is listed on the ballot both as a Republican and a Democrat.He won these party nominations in the May primary over Kane Police Chief Brian Hillard and former Kane councilman Lowell Gillespie.Hillard is an announced write-in candidate for the office formerly held by the late Michael Kennedy. Mike Fedora is the acting district judge.*Wetmore supervisor—Elaine Bodistow of East Kane is listed on the ballot both as a Republican and a Democrat.She won the nominations in May over incumbent Supervisor Ron Conklin and local businessman Don Payne.In Tuesday’s election, Bodistow is opposed by Payne, who is an announced write-in candidate. Bodistow currently serves as the township secretary-treasurer.*Mt. Jewett councilman—There are three seats on council up for election.Incumbent Republicans Wil Antrim and Brett Morgan are the only council candidates on the ballot.Chuck Paar, the current council president, and Mike Mix, former fire chief, both have announced their intention to run as write-in candidates in Tuesday’s election.There also is a four-way race for three seats on the McKean County Board of Commissioners.The incumbents include Republicans Joe DeMott of Port Allegany and Al Pingie of Bradford Township and Democrat Judy Church of Smethport.The challenger is Cliff Lane of Annin Township. He is a former county commissioner.Voters will be asked to select two candidates for commissioner. The top three vote-getters will form the new Board of Commissioners.A write-in candidate also is expected to win election to one of five seats on the Kane School Board.See full article by purchasing the Nov. 7 edition of The Kane Republican..