Headlines from the Past

Staff Writer

Kane Republican Headlines from the Past – Week of December 29, 1967

Hamlin Bank full page ad
Kane Is Mighty Proud
The Kane area has many unique records in its great athletic traditions---but we know of none comparable to the honor brought to Kane Area Senior High School tomorrow when Penn State clashes with Florida State in the Gator Bowl at Jacksonville, Fla.
Four young men who graduated from Kane Area Senior High School are members of the Penn State team. We are proud of them and the Penn State football team for their fine season.
The four members of the team are John Kulka of Ludlow, starting offensive tackle, George Kulka of Ludlow, defensive end, Tim Montgomery of Kane, safety who leads the team in interceptions and Dave Rackiecki of Kane, starting defensive middle guard.

Pigskin Parade On The Hoof In Kane
“Send police, hurry! There’s a big pig eating light bulbs, looking in cars- chasing youngsters.” This was it for a finale on the borough police blotter Saturday afternoon.
It was true. A porker weighing well over 500 pounds had chomped a few colored bulbs from a Yule display at the Robinson residence on Tionesta Avenue. It had run after children and adults, too, who scurried to safety.
Police, with assistance, roped the pig, which was turned over to its owner, John Davis, of South Elk Avenue.

First League Ball Game
Croyle, McGowan Star in Kane Win
Mike McGowan and John Croyle sparked a physically sub-par Kane Wolves varsity basketball team to a 66-55 triumph over the Flying Dutchmen of St Marys here Tuesday night.

Borough Council Elects James as President
It was reorganization time for Kane Borough Council last night with the “old” council meeting to clear its business and to turn over the business of borough operations to the “new” council. Seated last night were four new council members, Alan Sundberg, First Ward, Myles (Casey) Jones, Second Ward, Arthur (Gene) Larson, Third Ward and Merle Hartman, Fourth Ward.
As the old council adjourned, Mayor Roy Hanson presided for the election of a president and vice president. Edgar James was named president and George Gillotti, vice president. Both elections were unanimous.