Nov. 8 election features several local races

The general election Tuesday, Nov. 8 features several local races.In McKean County, there is a four-way race for three seats on the Board of Commissioners.The incumbents who are seeking re-election include Joe DeMott of Port Allegany, Al Pingie of Bradford Township and Judy Church of Smethport.DeMott, who is chairman of the board, and Pingie are Republicans. Church is a Democrat.The challenger is Cliff Lane of Annin Township, a Democrat and former county commissioner.Voters will be asked to cast ballots for two of the four candidates. The three top vote-getters will comprise the next Board of Commissioners that takes office in January.Dave Engman of Kane is seeking election as judge for the Kane District Court.A deputy in the county sheriff’s department, Engman is listed on the ballot both as the Democratic and Republican candidate. He won the party nominations in the May primary in a three-way race with Kane Borough Police Chief Brian Hillard and former Kane Councilman Lowell Gillespie.Hillard is conducting a write-in campaign in the Nov. 8 election to challenge Engman for the position of judge.Michael Fedora is the acting district judge in Kane. He took over after the late Michael Kennedy retired last year due to health reasons. Kennedy died earlier this month at his home in Florida.In Mt. Jewett, there are only two candidates on the ballot for three seats on the borough council.Councilmen Wil Antrim and Brett Morgan both are seeking re-election and are on the ballot.There are two announced write-in candidates—Council President Chuck Paar and Mike Mix, a former chief of the Mt. Jewett Volunteer Fire Department.Paar earlier this year said he would not seek re-election and did not file nominating papers for the May primary. However, he has since announced that he is seeking re-election as a write-in candidate.Mix also has announced that he is seeking election to council as a write-in candidate. Mix serves on the Mt. Jewett Borough Water Authority, which two months ago was relieved of its duties of operating the water system.Paar, Antrim and Morgan all voted in favor of a borough takeover of the water operation. Morgan now serves as the state-certified water plant operator in Mt. Jewett.In the borough of Kane, there are four candidates on the ballot for four council seats.See full article by purchasing the Oct. 29 edition of The Kane Republican.