In honor of school boards’ commitment to our students, schools and communities, January is once again designated School Director Recognition Month. 

Pennsylvania public schools educate nearly 2 million students and 1005 students are in the Kane Area School District.  The nine members of each local school board are a vital part of the district’s administrative team, making informed decisions that lead public schools and provide opportunities for every student to succeed. The KASD Board of Directors include:  Linda A. Anderson-Board President, Scott Paul-Vice President, Susan Aul, John Ball, Claire Ann Buckley, Derek Dangelo, Amber Hancharick, Thomas Kerek, and John Lorenzo.

To thank these locally elected officials, the Kane Area School District will be presenting the board members with a Certificate.  If you see any of these board members in the community, take time to thank them for their service to the communities who are part of the Kane Area School District.

School directors, who are unpaid, devote hours each month to the challenging and complex responsibilities of board business, including voting on budgets, adopting policy and conducting comprehensive planning. 

The Kane Area School Board, also has taken the step of adopting the PSBA Principles for Governance and Leadership – a framework of action steps designed to increase boards’ effectiveness. Research shows that school board actions have a direct effect on student achievement. Therefore, it is crucial that boards engage in actions the increase their effectiveness, for the betterment of the students they serve.

Go to to read the Principles and to see a list of Pennsylvania public school boards that have adopted them.

Recommended for you